Mission Uninspired Garment accomplished!

So as you might remember, my first attemptย to just make a really quick dress to fill Norah’s Winter wardrobe failed miserably, as I ended up with an experiment and a tutorial on top of it.

My second attempt, however, was successful. The key was to pick a gorgeous fabric with a big print – the kind of fabric which justย screams from a minimalist approach. I had this Anna Maria Horner linen in my stash for about a year. When I saw Olga’s beautiful Ghost Wing dress a few weeks ago, my desire to use it finally won from my fear of putting my scissors into this stunning cloth.


With Ava asleep exceptionally early (half past 8! Woohoow!) and Mr. StraightGrain off to play soccer a few nights ago, I had some hours of guilt-free sewing to spend. Before I knew it, the dress was finished (kudos to the inventor of the invisible zip!), and my mission to create a quick and uninspired garment finally accomplished.

So, there’s actually nothing interesting to say about this dress. The fabric is amazing. The End.

30 thoughts on “Mission Uninspired Garment accomplished!

  1. Zo grappig, ik won deze stof anderhalf jaar geleden en wist totaal niet wat ik ermee moest. Uiteindelijk ruimde ik mijn stoffenstapel op en werd ze weggegeven. Een prachtjurk maakte jij ervan!

  2. This is absolutely perfect, An! And the way you cut the neckline only makes it better! Rememebr the Hanimi I did with the AMH book fabric? Well, I had initially planned to make that dress like this one. It ended up being too much with that particular fabric, but I LOVE it in this fabric. Those colors are truly amazing together!

  3. Haha I posted a dress that I sewed with a very similar attitude today! Take a gorgeous fabric, sew a tried and true dress, and you'll often get stunning results! This dress is gorgeous! Total win.

  4. Rachel, your Anna Maria Horner dress was the Most Stunning Hanami Ever! It was so briljant of you to combine that fabric with CCS Amber. I totally agree that an entire dress in that fabric would have been too much…

  5. Inderdaad een heel mooi stofje! Maar ook een heel mooi jurkje. En een heel mooi meisje dat het mooie stofje en mooie jurkje draagt!

    Btw, Lola had het vorige week over een Nora uit een ander tweede klasje dat nu haar vriendinnetje is. Is dat jouw Nora?

  6. Dank je, Edje!
    En ja, dat moet mijn Norah wel zijn, want ze is de enige Norah van haar jaar denk ik.
    Nu moet ik zeggen dat de naam Lola hier niet zo vaak valt. Maar dan ging ik op jouw blog zien (zo blij dat ik die eindelijk gevonden heb – kon na de LMV beurs niet meer op de naam komen!) en dan zag ik daar je recentste post over Lola die gek is van Frozen. En daarstraks kwam Norah (die Frozen nooit zag) thuis van “Ik heb Anna moeten spelen”. “Anna wie?” “Anna van Elsa” ๐Ÿ™‚ Dus dan moeten ze inderdaad wel vriendinnetjes zijn! Nu brengt de Sint zaterdag toevallig die DVD van Frozen, dus dan is Norah helemaal mee. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Groetjes van je nieuwste volger ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

