Of the fluffiest fluffiness

Even before I started cutting the mint green fabric of my flipped pea coat, I knew that the coat wouldn’t live long if I would have Norah go to school with it. The school’s playground is, for the most part, a giant sandbox, filled not with white bright private-beach-on-Aruba type of sand, but rather with brown is-this-a-sand-box-or-a-construction-site kind of sand. The yellow coat I made last year, never really got perfectly clean after being worn for a week.

To my own surprise, after spending many, many, many hours on the Mint & Mustangs coat, I still felt like making a second jacket. To save time, I decided to make the exact same coat again, just in a fabric which is easier to keep clean. I found this dark blue speckled, roughly woven fabric at a creative fair which was organized a few months ago in Hasselt. It came from a shop of which I had never heard, but which turned out to be not far from my door: Obade Naailabo in Antwerp.

I combined it with gold piping , and used the same buttons as I used for my mint version.

The batting I used is Quiters’ Dream Wool, a 100% wool batting which is softer than soft, and super light. For the lining, I went for Stamped Grove Knit, a gorgeous fabric designed by Katarina Roccella for Art Gallery Fabrics (bought here). It was a bit of a risk to join knits with non-knits, but it actually turned out not to be difficult at all. And I had half a yard left, just enough to make a matching infinity scarf. In the sleeves, I used Venezia lining fabric, so that the coat is easy to put on and off.

The combination of the wool and knit gives a super light yet really warm coat, fluffier than fluffy! Like I already said in my post about the Mint and Mustangs coat, using a natural batting rather the cheap synthetic ones I used in the previous years, makes SUCH a difference. It’s really worth the extra expense. And I might just use knits as coat lining all the time from now on – it gives such a soft and sweet touch to the jacket. Art Gallery’s tagline, ‘Feel the difference’ applies to their knits even more than to their wovens.

While I feared that Norah would insist on wearing her first coat all the time, she actually said she likes the blue one better. Say what? A four-year-old girl who likes blue and trees better than pink and horses? Should I consult a doctor?

I’m getting started on my next Miss Matatabi Makers project today. Hope you all have a great weekend! You can still vote for your favorite Flip This Pattern coat, here.

37 thoughts on “Of the fluffiest fluffiness

  1. Alweer een topexemplaar. Ik vind zo'n mantels supermooi, maar ik durf dat echt niet maken voor mijn 'wij springen heel graag in de modder'-kinderen. Wellicht als ze wat ouder zijn, over een jaar of 10 😉

  2. Just like my daughter, but she likes blue and sweets and football. So she thinks she's a tomboy. I love both coats equally. I suppose you never can have too many coats ( when they are that gorgeous).

  3. Another wonderful coat! Could you explain how you add the batting? I recently made a DMK stylish double breasted coat, inspired by the many previous Straight Grain versions, but I couldn't work out how to add batting. Any chance there'll be a Straight Grain coat pattern (with princess seams and magical pockets!) in the future?

  4. It is, isn't? I've been looking for something online for such a long time, but never found it. And then I'm at this fair – where I'm actually for helping out in a boot, not for shopping – and I just stumble upon it. Awesome 🙂

  5. I forgot to include the links. This one is the 100% wool: http://www.machinequilting.nl/webshop/tussenvulling/quilters-dream/tussenvulling/quilters-dream/quilters-dream-wool-240cm-breed.html
    For the mint jacket, I used Puff; it is polyester, but so much better than the cheap ones I used to buy at Stoffenspektakel. It is more affordable than the Wool: http://www.machinequilting.nl/webshop/tussenvulling/quilters-dream/tussenvulling/quilters-dream/quilters-dream-puff-240-cm-breed.html

  6. Ooooh, zo'n mooie jasjes! Hoe heb ik die over het hoofd kunnen zien?

    Ik duim dat ze mooi uit de was komen. En mijn keuze voor die knopen is eigenlijk ook wel wat luiheid… Hout past gewoon bij alles, dus moet ik niet op zoek naar het perfecte bijpassende knoopje 😉

  7. Thank you! And yes, there will be a StraightGrain winter coat pattern in the future. 🙂

    Adding batting is really simple! You should see it as an extra layer you add to your lining. So you just cut the lining patterns from the batting as well. And then you can choose: either you first quilt the lining on top of the batting (like I did with the Mustangs lining), or you just treat them as one layer (so where it says 'put main and lining with right sides together', you put the batting on top of the lining)). Does this make sense to you?

  8. Thanks, Olu! It's cool to have a daughter who doesn't make the stereotypical choices, isn't it? Norah is a bit of a mixture: she loves pricesses, but her favorite toys are cars, and she never plays with dolls. She surprised me with her choice for the blue coat, and made me proud at the same time 😉

  9. Thank you, Kate!

    I think that, normally, it would be best to size up. But I actually sized down (made a 4Y for a girl who is turning 5 in a good month) and it is still very big. Norah is just really skinny, and the pattern very generous.

  10. Hooray for a Straight Grain coat, consider this my pre-order. Still unsure about the batting though! Do you end up making a third coat out of batting pieces and then sewing all three together (main, lining and batting)? Or when sewing the lining pieces together do you add a batting piece to each piece? Sorry for all of the questions!! I'm assuming that batting is added to the sleeves, but maybe it's just for the body?

  11. It's the second option: you add a batting piece to each lining piece. (So you don't sew an entire coat out of batting first, and then add it). And I also used batting in the sleeves (but you can prefectly leave it out if you prefer). The only pieces which do not have batting are the collar and the belt details on the sleeves and in the back.

Leave a Reply

