New Sewing Series!

I am very excited today to introduce to you an upcoming sewing series hosted by myself and my blogging buddy, Suz from sewpony.  The series is called I [heart] Marcel Marlier and is dedicated to the late children’s book illustrator Marcel Marlier.

The tiny first seeds for this series were planted over a year ago, when Suz sent me an invitation for a blog series with this button attached. I immediately recognized the picture from one of the Tiny books I owned, and wondered how an Aussie could ever end up with a picture from a Belgian book. Suz told me that it was an illustration from one of her favourite childhood books, Debbie’s birthday party. Debbie? Tiny has an Anglophone alias?

And so I found out that Tiny books had been translated from French to other languages besides Dutch. Moreover, it turned out that Suz was working on a Debbie-inspired pattern, right at the same time when I was working on my Tiny-inspired pattern. Over a year later, Suz and I agreed that we should really do something with our shared love for Marlier’s illustrations. 

Above is an illustrated picture of Marcel Marlier with Tiny/Debbie and her loyal companion Puffie. Marlier was born in Belgium in 1930. He entered a drawing competition in his young teens, which he won. This propelled his super productive career as one of the world’s most famous and recognisable children’s books illustrators. He illustrated works written by Gilbert Delahaye (aka Gijs Haag) for decades. The books Marlier illustrated were translated into over 20 languages and are still sold around the world. The names of the characters were changed to suit the country of translation, so you may be familiar with Tiny, Debbie, Anita, or Martine, depending on where you live in the world. Marcel Marlier died in 2011 at the age of 81.

He had such an incredible eye for details on children’s garments, and the vintage style of his early books is just stunning. These are some of my favorite Marlier illustrations/fashion designs.

Don’t they have “sewing project!” written all over them? Here is some more eye candy:

To pay tribute to this extremely talented artist who has given us much inspiration, we are very excited to have talented bloggers from all over the world who will be sharing what they have sewn inspired by Marcel Marlier. Check out this incredible line-up:
We can’t wait! In addition, we are also organising a huge give-away. Two generous sponsors provided us with $300 dollar in prizes! There will be six winners, with one of them winning no less than $150 in fabric vouchers. Suz and I are also giving way three vintage Marcel Marlier books to one lucky winner.
How can you win these fabulous prizes? Make sure to visit the different participants in the next couple of weeks. They will each include a personalized Rafflecopter widget in their I [heart] Marcel Marlier post. From the entries in all these widgets, we will randomly draw the 6 winners. You can enter multiple Rafflecopters to increase your chances, so make sure not to miss a post 🙂
We’d like to already thank our two sponsors, Pink Chalk Fabrics and Fat Quarter Shop, for their support and generosity! Many of you will already know these fabulous shops, but we’d like to present them to you anyway.

The Fat Quarter Shop was founded in 2003 by Kimberly Jolly. An avid quilter, Kimberly began her shop as a side business while still working a corporate position, but as The Fat Quarter Shop grew, she decided to make it a full-time operation. Kimberly’s shop offers fabrics from top brands such as Cotton + Steel, Dear Stella, Bernatex, Cloud 9, Art Gallery, Free Spirit, and many more. But you can also find a great range of books and patterns (e.g., Indigo Junction, V and Co, Blackbird Designs) and threads and notions in their shop. If you like Marcel Marlier style clothes, you will surely appreciate their extensive range of designer solids (e.g., Cotton Couture Solids, American Made Brand, Moda Bella, Kona). The Fat Quarter Shop ships internationally.
Pink Chalk Fabrics was launched in 2008 with the mission to provide the best cloth, pattern, and tools available for modern sewists. Shop owner Kathy Mack’s motto is Do What You Like, Like What You Do. Pink Chalk Fabrics sells fabrics from some of the top designer brands (e.g. Michael Miller, Cotton + Steel, Alexander Henry, Cloud 9, Echino, Moda, Riley Blake, Liberty of London) as well as patterns (e.g., Oliver + s, Amy Butler, April Rhodes, Sew Caroline) and tools. Pink Chalk Fabrics too sells a great collection of designer solids (e.g., Cotton Couture Solids, Kona, Moda Bella, Robert Kaufman Essex Linen). Pink Chalk Fabrics ships internationally.

Are you guys as excited as we are about this series?
36 thoughts on “New Sewing Series!

  1. I’m so curious to see the creations!! These books (Anita in Portugal) are part of my childhood and my girls love them as well.

  2. I am so excited! I have everything settled to start sewing a couple of Anita's outfits for Teresa and Ines. I can't wait to start sewing! And I can't wait to see what everyone has created for your wonderful series!

  3. Can't wait to see what all the girls will do! As for me, I have started thinking about it, have several ideas… Which one will I choose?! 🙂 My daughter too, is quite excited to become Martine ;-)!!!

  4. This is going to be very nice!
    I was just wondering when I read about the historical background: aren't the writers Gijs Haag and Gilbert Delahaye not one and the same person? It would be a coincidence if not.

  5. OMG, of course! How I didn't see that… I thought that Gilbert Delahaye referred to an author of other books than Tiny, but indeed he wrote all the Martine books and just Dutchified his name to Gijs Haag for the Dutch translations. Smart thinking, Heleen 🙂

  6. So exciting! Tiny (or Anita, in my case) books are definitely my favorites – I started my collection when my older boy was born, in spite of some (unfair) critics that boys don't really read Tiny (I needed an excuse, right?) 🙂

Leave a Reply

