Improvisational Pleating Contest: How simple it can be

A few weeks ago, I announced the Improvisational Pleating Contest in which you can win three yards of amazing voile fabrics. 
I thought it would be fun to do some improvisational pleating myself this week. I made a super simple sundress: a pintucked bodice combined with a simple rectangle with a contrasting hem.
The pleating technique I used is Crooked Bamboo, except that I used straight instead of bended lines (though they look a bit bended in he pictures).

The striped fabric is a simple poplin from my local fabric store. The skirt panel is Cotton Couture Solids Gold, combined with Cotton Couture Solids Spring (both from Pink Chalk Fabrics).

 In the past Winter, Cotton Couture Amber was my favorite color; this Summer it’s Gold. I used it in this sleep sack, and I’ll be using it in many more other projects.

So, as you can see, an improvisational pleating project can be super simple. Will any of you be taking a shot, or will I be keeping those delicious voiles to myself? 🙂

Keep in mind that you don’t have to make a garment. A simple tote, pillow cover, or maybe even a bib (check out my free pattern tomorrow) could also land you those voiles!

Click here if you would like to take a look at the deadlines and rules (and non-rules!) again 🙂

10 thoughts on “Improvisational Pleating Contest: How simple it can be

  1. I've made mine but just waiting for my model to be 'in the mood'. You know how these young models get. She's a bit of a diva. Anyway my pleating went well and I can't wait to show you.

  2. So glad I still have time as I have had a project in the back of my mind for weeks! Fingers crossed I get some photos of my 6 week old niece in it this weekend (and hopefully I can finally update my Lua post with actual baby in sleep sack photos)

  3. Hi, your site is amazing. Your material choices patterned and block are stunning. Do you have a pattern for the simple sundress you used in this dress and a colour block version. Or can you point me in the right direction. Keep designing you are an inspiration.

  4. Thank you so much, Kate (or Westy or Steve ;-)) Your compliments mean a lot.

    The pattern I used is self-drafted. But I'll be launching the colorblocked sundress pattern by next Spring… Is this answer helpful to you?

Leave a Reply

