Tutorial: Colorblocked sleep sack

This is a repost of a tutorial  originally posted over at iCandy. Thank you Jen and Autie!

In today’s tutorial, I’m showing how you can use this pattern to make a fun colorblocked sleep sack.



Instead of using 1 fabric for the front and back, I used a combination of 5 solids. All are part of Michael Miller’s Cotton Couture Solids line (bought here and here). The color combination I used was inspired by this beautiful quilt by Ashley from Film in the Fridge.

The pattern comes with the option to use a decorative piping detail in the front, but because there is already enough going on with the different color blocks, I left the piping out (simply by using the front lining pattern for the main front).

1. I divided my front and back pattern pieces into different blocks of uneven size. Above and below each line I drew, I wrote a reminder to myself to add seam allowance in the next step (in red).

2. I cut out the different blocks, and pinned them on different pieces of fabric. I cut each piece out, adding seam allowance where I indicated in step 1 that this was necessary.

3. I puzzled and stitched all the different pieces together, and pressed open the seam allowance.

4. When a light an a dark fabric met, I pressed the seam allowance up towards the darker piece, so that it wouldn’t be visible throught the light fabric.

5. Finally, I could assemble the sleep sack in just the same way as when using just 1 fabric.

I made the sleep sack a size too big, so Ava can still wear it next Winter.
As far as I could tell, Ava was very happy with her new sleep sack. It doesn’t seem to bother her at all that she kind of looks like a giant popsicle!  🙂

One thought on “Tutorial: Colorblocked sleep sack

  1. I love this color-blocked sleep sack! This has inspired me to make my 7 month old baby, who keeps kicking off her blankets, one of your Lua sleep sacks for this coming fall and winter. Oh, and my baby's name is Ava too!

Leave a Reply

