A new dear dress

I haven’t blogged in almost three weeks – but not because I haven’t been sewing. In fact, I’ve been sewing so much that I haven’t found the time to blog about it 🙂

It’s just that I realised – quite late – that Norah urgently needed a Autumn/Winter wardrobe. I’ve made 4 and a half dresses and skirts so far, which I’ll be showing in the coming days. All really simple things in lovely Autumny colors.

Today: dress #1: a simple basic body dress Tinny in a brilliant fabric: Paint by Number Deer in Sky from Erin Michael’s Lush Uptown line (Moda), bought here.

I used my Tinny pattern, but made a few adaptations. Instead of a collar sewn between the neck line and facing, I drew a semi-collar which I finished off with bias binding – inspired by this one by the brilliant Trine. The hem of the skirt is finished with bias binding too.
Getting nice pictures is difficult these days, with Norah going to school full days without a nap at noon. She’s exhausted when she comes home, and asking her for a photoshoot is just not something I want to do. So you’ll have to make do with the crappy pic below to get an idea of what the dress looks like when worn.
The gold/curry fabric I used for the collar and hem bias is Michael Miller’s Cotton Couture in Amber, a fabric I learned about via Rachel’s brilliant Hanami dress. It’s my new favorite color, and this is actually the fourth dress I’m using it in 🙂
34 thoughts on “A new dear dress

  1. I have just started following your blog (although I have admired your patterns on Pinterest for a while now). This is a gorgeous dress, and a beautiful way to use that lovely fabric. I'm inspired!

  2. Dat stofje blijft toch een van mijn favorieten! Ik heb het al een paar jaar in mijn kast liggen en ga er zo zuinig met om…
    Voor dit kleedje is het gewoon perfect, schattig en stoer tegelijkertijd!

  3. mooi! Ik ben ook absoluut fan van die kleuren.
    En een dochter die te moe is voor een fotoshoot, dat is ook heel herkenbaar… Het is een hele stap zo zonder middagdutje hé.
    Gelukkig was ze hier gisterenmiddag wel uitgeslapen (en hoe!), wij maakten toen foto's van een nieuwe hanami!

  4. Mooie versie! Je meisje ziet er inderdaad wel heel moe uit. Dat is een beeld dat voor ons heel herkenbaar is de laatste weken. Onze meisjes gaan voor het eerst naar school en zijn om bij elkaar te vegen als we ze gaan halen… Soms direct hup in bed! Zal hopelijk binnenkort wel beteren. M

  5. Hi Jeannie, I haven't made a long-sleeve Tinny myself, but it should be perfectly possible. You would just need to extend the lines of the short sleeves.
    And great fabric – I love Kayo Horaguchi!

  6. WHAT a UNIQUE fabric, Paint by Number Deer in Sky, for a classic dress for your young daughter, Norah. The detailing adds to the sophistication and reveals your sewing talents, An. The colors are perfect! Thank you for sharing your creation! Sarah Helene, Minneapolis, MN USA

Leave a Reply

