/Off topic

Okay, so this is “a blog about sewing”, I know. But today, I’d like to share a post about something else which I hope might be of interest to some of you too.

Mr. StraightGrain and I have been talking for months about how we would like to decorate our living room with something more colorful and bright than the rather dark framed Hiroshige drawings which have been hanging on one of our walls since we moved in about 4 years ago. We’ve been going over some ideas, but never really found anything cool which is not extremely time-consuming.

Then, a few weeks ago, I took some pictures of Norah for my Ruffled Sundress tutorial. I was so happy with the outcome, that I just had to do something with them. Rather than just printing and framing them, I decided to play around with them in Pixlr (a free online Photoshop knock-off) for a bit, and have them printed and mounted on MDF board (this technique). The result is pictured above.

As I’m really happy with it, and have had many enthusiastic reactions from friends and family, I thought I’d just share with you the extremely easy way in which I made them.

1. I openened the picture from my hard drive in Pixlr Editor, and I cropped the different photos. It’s very important that the model’s head has about the same size in each picture, and that it is put in about the same position. As I wanted the pictures printed at 30 by 40 cm, I set the aspect ratio to 30:40.

2. Next, I used the “Curves” option in Pixlr, which enables you to play with the lighting of the picture on two parameters: tone and contrast.

I picked up the top of the curve, and moved it over the graph’s area until the pictures looked the way I wanted it them too: a ridiculous amount of contrast, and extremely bright. (if necessary, you can also fiddle with other functions, like saturation, color vibrance, etc).
3. I saved the pictures in the highest possible quality, and had them printed.
Easy peasy! 
PS1. Disclaimer: In no way do I claim that this is an even remotely professional way of editing your pictures, but it worked very well for me so I thought I’d share. 
PS2. The printed pictures are a lot higher in quality than they appear – it’s just the pictures of the pictures which are poor (because the prints are hanging in a part of our living room with little natural light).
PS3. This is not a sponsored post – the link to Photobox is purely informational, and there are many other companies which provide these kinds of services)
14 thoughts on “/Off topic

  1. Heel mooi ! Heb je de foto's genomen tegen een effen achtergrond ( in de foto bij de tutorial is de achtergrond grijs) of heb je een foto uitgesneden en dan geplakt op een effen achtergrond … Beetje mijn probleem: leuke foto's genoeg van de kinderen, maar altijd wel iets of iemand op de achtergrond 😉

  2. Dank je, Katrien! De foto's zijn genomen tegen een grijze achtergrond, maar doordat ik de belichting zo heb opgeblazen is die wit geworden – mooi meegenomen 😉
    En dat probleem van die spullen op de achtergrond ken ik wel… Voor mijn blog maak ik speciaal foto's tegen een effen muur – we spelen dan rollenspelen om het wat leuk te maken voor Norah ('sta eens stil en lach eens!' werkt niet echt bij haar).

Leave a Reply

