Kids’ Clothes Belgian Style week 18 : Japanese Sewing Books

Our series is down to the last three participants, but they’re not the least! Take this week’s guest, Yi Farn. Her blog Japanese Sewing Books is the reference for everyone who loves – you’ll never guess this one – Japanese sewing books. Singapore-based Yi Farn provides her readers with translations of sewing instructions, book reviews of Japanese pattern books and magazines, tutorials, give-aways, great tips for buying Japanese fabric, and more. In the past years, she has built an incredible archive of resources. Her blog is also the place to be if you like to take a peek inside Japanese sewing books.

Yi Farn is also a great seamstress herself, and one of the ridiculously modest kind. She stitches up the most beautiful Japanese style garments for herself and her kids, but tends to hide them in book reviews on her blog. Tip: follow her via Facebook, where her creations get a more prominent place. Fun fact: Yi Farn loves Japanese fabrics sooooo much, that she cannot bear to actually cut them up and stitch them. She must have an incredible stash of Japanese fabrics over the years (care to share a pic of you stash on your Facebook page, Yi Farn? ;-)) Luckily, she made an exception for the Belgian Style series!

     

—-

When An of StraightGrain blog first approached me to write a guest post about Kids’ Clothes Belgian Style, I was very flattered but at a loss. What do I know about Belgian style clothing? I’ve only been to the usual tourist spots in Europe, and never Belgium. So I was pretty unfamiliar with the whole concept. Luckily, An put together a very inspiring pinterest board on Kids’ Clothes Belgian Style, which was really useful in introducing us to works of famous Belgian designers and their styles.

One thing that really stood out in the pinterest board was the use of bold colors and animal prints. The clothes and dresses themselves were very simple and clean cut, but made fabulous by the bold use of colors, geometric prints and also some stunning pieces with large animal prints on them. I’ve never thought of using them on kids clothes before! The fabric that I instantly thought of that could fit the theme was a Kayo Horaguchi fabric. Famous for bold and quirky colors and prints, featuring mystical creatures and animals. I went online and bought this gorgeous piece of cotton fabric which I thought would be perfect for the theme.

The next part was a bit difficult. Choosing the pattern and cutting the fabric. Cutting beautiful fabric has always been a tough task for me. So I had to be very sure which pattern I was going to use. I was initially thinking of doing a simple bodice dress with a pleated or ruffled skirt but I didn’t like to “hide” the gorgeous border print behind pleats or ruffles. The border print extends halfway through the width of the fabric with trails of butterflies and flowers, which was also painful to cut off. So in the end I decided on a tunic from this book “a sunny spot 女の子のまいにちの服” , something that will display the border print without folds or joints at the waistline, and I can also max out the use of the butterflies/floral trails. The tunic has flutter sleeves, a square neckline and ribbon tie at the back, which makes it more interesting then just a slip on tunic.

So here it is, the final outfit. I’m not entirely sure it qualifies as Belgian style, but I love it and hope you will to!

13 thoughts on “Kids’ Clothes Belgian Style week 18 : Japanese Sewing Books

  1. I'm speechless!
    I follow your blog for quite a while and your fabric choices always take me by surprise (unfortunately my stash of Japanese fabric is almost nonexistent).
    The top is absolutely gorgeous (love the flutter sleeves) and I just can't take my eyes off that amazing border print – stunning, indeed 🙂

  2. It's so pretty Yi Farn. I love the fabric and how you used it. I can see why you carefully deliberated over cutting it – you don't want to ruin a piece like that! Off to have a look at your blog – I love Japanese sewing books!

  3. I'm in LOVE with this gorgeous dress – thank you for the link to the fabric, it is beautiful. I too have trouble cutting into beautiful fabric, especially if it's a bit expensive 🙂

  4. I have the same problem with beatiful fabrics: I keep them on my stach instead of sewing them!
    I absolutely love your tunic! That fabric is gorgeous! After all it is not so bad to cut our favorite fabrics, is it?!

Leave a Reply

