Nani Iro never disappoints, episode #539

In the last couple of weeks, I’ve been thinking some more about my peplum top with flutter sleeves. As I would like my next pattern to include a few different options again, some experiments were in order.
The first idea I wanted to try out was a crossed back. I combined it with the tulip flutter sleeves I used earlier. The fabric is Nani Iro Fuccra Rakuen, bought at Miss Matatabi (where else?).
The back closes with one button under each arm.

As I was sewing the top, I was getting doubts about the fabric. Wouldn’t it look old-fashioned on Norah?

But as soon as she put it on, I was reminded of that old rule again: Nani Iro never disappoints.

I’m thinking about making the bottom part a bit shorter again. What do you guys think?

17 thoughts on “Nani Iro never disappoints, episode #539

  1. This is so beautiful! And Nora looks so grown up in it! I think shorter might be better, to me it looks as if the bottom outweighs the flutter sleeves a little bit. It might be more balanced shorter.

  2. It's lovey An! (and you are so right – Nani Iro prints will always be perfect no matter what …)
    I love this top (the sleeves are adorable and the back closure is very clever). However, I might also agree with a bit shorter length. It will be more balanced.

  3. Your Girl loves the camera, and the camera loves her!! So funny to see how much she enjoys! I like this length, specially with that closure. And you are right Nani Iro never disappoints!!

  4. Maybe, just maybe, the flounce could be a bit shorter. But I think I like it this way too…
    And I love the cross over closure.
    Can't wait to see the new pattern!

Leave a Reply

