Kookaburra quilt

When I saw this organic fabric, by Australain designer Saffron Craig, I just had to buy it. Yes, it was not cheap, and no, I didn’t actually need it, but Oooooh it was so pretty. And sometimes a girl just has to treat herself, right? In my defense: I do not own many pairs of shoes.

As the weather in Belgium is (finally) getting too hot for a duvet, Norah really could use a blanket for her Big Girl’s Bed. An entire quilt in Saffron Craig fabric would be a bit too expensive, so I just opted to combine two half meters with some solids from Schröder (Rotterdam).

The Saffron Craig fabric is, by the way, the best quality organic fabric I have ever worked with. Not too thick or stiff, very soft, bright colors and a sharp print. More than worth its price!

Better too long than too short, I figured, so I ended up with a 220 cm long quilt. I was a bit shocked when my calculations revealed that this meant that I had to make, iron and stitch more than 6 meters of bias. A few hours of my life well spent.
It also turned out to be impossible to take flattering pictures of such a big quilt – not really something you can put on a hanger. So here’s a really terrible picture:
Yes, I’m aware that there’s this thing called an iron. I really am.
21 thoughts on “Kookaburra quilt

  1. Love the colors!
    And that fabric paired with the orange binding really steals the show 🙂 (I should join a fabric rehab program as I always purchase fabric that I don't really need. Oh well, like you I don't have many pair of shoes…)
    Hope Norah's is glad about her new quilt! (my girl is waiting for a new one since Xmas, lol)

  2. An, this is a beautiful quilt. I can see why you fell in love with this organic fabric. Wow, just gorgeous!!! And I feel your pain in terms of taking full pictures of long quilts…. they never seem to turn out right. They always look awkward, no? Although I normally include a full picture of my quilts (I've only made 4 so far!), I much prefer close ups (folded, rolled up, bunched up). They just seem cuddlier that way, haha!

    Love you work and your blog!
    Natalie
    XXX

    http://www.natandgang.blogspot.com

  3. Love that fabric. It is so worth owning less shoes for it. When I splurge on fabric I tell myself it's okay because I'm not going to buy anymore fabric for a long time… unless I slip up. I slip up a lot.

Leave a Reply

