A touch of neon (KCW day 3-4)

I finally finished the fourth and final version of my vintage-inspired dress. This time, I went for a regular peter pan collar, and I wisely chose for a circle skirt again.
I also gave the tulip sleeves another try. In the previous version the petals were too big, and the sleeves too long, but I think that I got them about right, now.

I added neon piping to the sleeves, collar and waist for a more modern effect. Finding neon piping was quite a challenge, but luckily I found some neon bias (at Veritas, a Belgian chain) which I could turn into piping.
The fabric is a €5 solid I bought in Amsterdam (Boerenbonthal – check it out if you’re ever in Amsterdam!). It has a weight and feel which is quite similar to Kona Cotton (which unfortunately means it wrinkles just as easily).

The original plan was to use buttons in the back instead of a hidden zipper, and I wanted to make them from the bias. Unfortunately, the bias turned out to be impossible to use for self-cover buttons. It just kept popping out – the polyester is too stiff and smooth, I guess. Or I just suck at making self-cover buttons.
With all four versions of the collar made, I should finally make some work of finishing the pattern (Edit June 1: the Tinny pattern is now available here).. So no more sewing this week! 
Or maybe just a little…

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

31 thoughts on “A touch of neon (KCW day 3-4)

  1. Such an interesting color combination! I never would have considered it. Looks great, and you know what, I'm pretty bad at making covered buttons myself!

  2. I love it! The neon piping is genius. I'm about to draft my first peter pan collar to fit the geranium dress today… a little nervous… so fingers crossed it turns out ok!

  3. Neon piping is so stylish!
    I love your color/fabric picks for this version! The dress is really beautiful and I love the fact that it has lots of interesting elements (love the circle skirt).
    Ana Sofia

  4. I love that dress!
    The sleeves are realy perfect now. Good work!
    And the neon piping is amazing. I have to try and find it here in Portugal. (If you now any online shop that has it, please let me now.)

  5. Wow, what an amazing dress. I LOVE this. Are you going to be selling a pattern of this, I would definitely buy it!!

Leave a Reply

