A give-away and a discount: LaughingHouseFabrics

I have no plans whatsoever to turn this blog into a forum for continuous sponsored posts and product placement, but once in a while, I would like to put a spotlight on a small, independent shop with which I had good experience.

So today, I’m introducing you to LaughingHouseFabric, the Etsy shop where I bought the Lotta Jansdotter fabric for my teal bubble dress. TheLaughingHouse is owned by Singapore-based Fanny, a stay-at-home mother of 2 with an eye for great fabrics. Apart from Lotta Jansdotter, Fanny also sells a great selection of Birch, Cloud 9, Michael Miller, Anthology, and Art Gallery fabrics. She also sells finished products in these fabrics in a separate Etsy-shop.

The main raisons why I think many of you might be interested in LaughingHouseFabrics are Fanny’s great prices (especially by European standards) and her cheap and superfast shipping (my order arrived in Belgium within a week). Moreover, if Fanny finds that she can ship your order cheaper than the listing indicates, she will refund the difference via PayPal if it exceeds $1.

Now, Fanny would like to make some room for new fabrics, so she’s giving away some to StraightGrain readers, and she’s also offering you a discount!

THE GIVE-AWAY:
Follow Fanny via Facebook, Twitter, or Blogger, and post in the comments section to this post which fabric you would pick if you won, and you make a chance to win a yard (1st place), a half yard (2nd place), or a fat quarter (3rd place) of this fabric. Only Birch and Cloud 9 fabrics are excluded from the give-away. Winners will be picked on Sunday night with a random number generator.

THE DISCOUNT:
Use the code STRAIGHTGRAIN in Fanny’s fabric shop, and get a 10% discount – storewide. The code will expire in 5 days.

Good luck, everyone!

43 thoughts on “A give-away and a discount: LaughingHouseFabrics

  1. Wauw, bedankt voor de tip! Ik ga hier zeker shoppen, wat een mooie stoffen heeft ze! Ik doe ook graag mee met de give away en zou dan gaan voor de stof met wolkjes ( woodland teal), dan heb ik ook eens wat unisex stof op voorraad voor bijvoorbeel een babydekentje, kussen of ander kraamkadootje…
    Groetjes Esther, vanjansen.blogspot.com

  2. Thank you so much! I have popped over and liked Franny's page on FB and after some tough decision making, chose this fabric: Art Gallery Fabric – PATRICIA BRAVO – Summer Love Collection – SunKissed Palette – Beyond Bliss in Ginger

    Debbie-Lee
    x

  3. What a great shop…thanks for the introduction! There are so many great choices, but I've been eyeing Lotta Jansdotter designs for awhile, so I think I'd pick one of them.

  4. I agree, she has wonderful fabrics.
    If I win I'd like to choose
    NEW – Art Gallery Fabric – PATRICIA BRAVO – Summer Love Collection – SunKissed Palette – Naivetty Berry

    And
    I follow on fb with nick soni ost pe

    Thanks!

  5. I am so happy to know about this shop. I am now following on facebook (and bloglovin). I would get the Lotta Jansdotter bird fabric that goes with bubble dress fabric you used. Then I would have to buy more to go with it. Thanks for a great giveaway!

  6. I love the look of anthology fabrics, the woodlands in forest green. I think it would make a cute spring tunic top for my litte niece 🙂

  7. Thank you An for sharing this shop.
    My favourite is PATRICIA BRAVO – Summer Love Collection – SunKissed Palette.
    I should really start buying my fabrics online.
    Marte

  8. Hi! thanks for the tip, I love the Lotta Jansdotter Coastal Flowers in Cornblue. And btw I love your blog, I think I found you through Pinterest. I´m new to this sewing thing although I´ve had a sewing machine for many years now and have undergone extensive teasing from my husband for never using it after I just had to have one 🙂 My first real project was your bubble dress which turned out great and I was soooo proud of myself after finishing it! 🙂 After following your Belgian Style series I´ve found alot of inspiration for new projects so now all I want to do is sew! 🙂
    Thanks! 🙂
    Dagbjørt.

  9. Ooh that fabric is super cute! I can understand why you'd want to highlight her 🙂 I'm now following her on Twitter and I would love to win that “Michael Miller Fabric – SARAH JANE – Children at Play Collection – Pinwheels in Cream”… how cute!

  10. It was hard to chose but I picked Rocky Shore in Schooner by Lotta Jansdotter from Windham Fabrics.
    I've never bought any fabric online and winning this would be a great way to start…
    Thank you for this giveway!

  11. WOW what great fabrics – I would get the Anthology Woodland Acorns to create a sweet dress for my daughter's first day of preschool this September. I follow Fanny on Facebook, Blogger and Twitter. What a super sweet giveaway!

  12. je tente ma chance et choisis sans hésitation le tissu Anthology Fabrics – Khristian A Howell – The Woodlands – Dream in Teal.
    merci pour la découverte de cette super boutique de tissus, j'adore!!

  13. Thank you, for this great recommendation! I am currently waiting for fabric I bought from Miss Matatabi and it would be so nice to win and wait for even more beautiful fabric!
    I would choose Michael Miller Fabric – SARAH JANE – Out to Sea – Pirate Girls (Pearl), because I know a little pirate girl I want to sew for!
    Greetings from Germany!

  14. Hard to choose, but I'd love Art Gallery Fabric – PATRICIA BRAVO – Summer Love Collection – Blue Crush Palette – Malibu Sun. It would definitely bring some sunshine to my little girl! Got lots of ideas already… very inspired by your blog! thanks

  15. Wow An, wat een leuke stofjes biedt Fanny aan. Heb haar meteen “geliked” op FB.
    Ik heb een heerlijk zonnig (kunnen we nu wel gebruiken!) stofje uitgezocht voor een nieuwe Peplum Bubble Dress voor mijn dochtertje van twee. Het is zo'n vrolijk stofje, als ik hem niet win ga ik hem zeker bestellen bij Fanny.
    Thanks. Gr. Mieke
    Art Gallery Fabric – PAT BRAVO – Poetica Collection – Seafoam Symphony Palette – Dancing the Waltz

  16. Wow! So many great fabrics. I would love to have the Art Gallery Fabric – PATRICIA BRAVO – Summer Love Collection – Blue Crush Palette – Swept Away in Intensity! Thanks for the chance to win:)
    I now follow on Facebook.

  17. Thanks, not come across that shop before. Some interesting fabrics there 🙂
    I'm now following with blogger… I would choose Woven in Schooner by Lotta Jansdotter (inspired by your blog's title bar?) – thanks for the giveaway.

  18. Hello! I'm following on facebook and I fell in love with Michael Miller Fabric – SARAH JANE – Out to Sea – Nautical Map (White). So cute! And your blog is incredibly great!

  19. What fabulous fabric she has! I am following her blog, and on FB as well I've favorite'd both of her etsy shops!My dream choice would be the Patty Young Heaven & Helsinki City Block in Orange.

  20. Oh, thanks for the recommendation! I'm following her on facebook now and added the shop to my Etsy favourites! Lots of fabric to choose from, but after some deliberation I would go for the Anthology Woodlands fabric (the clouds) in teal! 🙂

  21. Great fabric shop! I'm following her on facebook and favourited her Etsy shop! Hard to choose but if I won I would choose the Anthology woodland (clouds) in Teal!
    Thanks for this giveaway and the heads up about this great shop 🙂

  22. Oh wow – what a lovely shop! I am following her on FB and made her one of my Etsy favorites! I had such a hard time choosing just one fabric, but if I had to, I'd likely choose the Out to Sea – Pirates in white by Michael Miller. Cute fabric for boys!! Thanks for the chance to win!

  23. Thank you for sharing. I am in the UK, so it is great to find new places to shop now that the US and UK postal rates have increased so much.

    I love all of the tsuru range so may have to treat myself next payday, however my choice in the competition would be anthology woodland dream in teal,

  24. Thank you, Dagbjort 🙂 I'm so happy to hear that you liked the bubble dress pattern. And well done on finishing it as a first project; it's not a superdifficult pattern, but it's really impressive that you managed to make one as a complete novice!

Leave a Reply

