Kids’ Clothes Belgian Style week 4: Groovybaby… and mama

Today, we have a Danish guest in our Belgian style series: the wonderful Trine from Groovybaby… and mama. Even if you have never visited this blog before, you will probably recognize some of the pictures below – especially if you use Pinterest. Because Trine’s designs are everywhere, and many sewing bloggers are inspired by her lovely fabric combinations and truly original style. In fact, Trine’s style is so unique, distinctive and consistent that some might think Groovybaby is a super hip and rather expensive brand in children’s clothing, instead of one mama’s creations for her own four kids.
And for herself, for that matter, because Groovybaby followers also regularly spot Trine in great selfmade dresses (check this one out, for instance)

 

But today is all about children’s clothing, of course. Take it away, Trine!

Hi, I’m Trine from Groovybabyandmama.

First of all thank you so much for inviting me to this challenge, An. I’ve been a big fan of the ‘Belgian Style’ for years. I love the simplicity and bright colors that define this particular type of clothing. This is not my first take on this style – but it’s been a couple of years since I’ve made Wilma some 50s style dresses, so thanks for refreshing my memory, An! Don’t know why I stopped making this type of dress, because Wilma loves them! (And so does her mother).

My beautiful (unfortunately OOP) Poppy Field fabric from Michael Miller has been hidden away for a long time just waiting for the right occation. And this is it. No doubt. The landscape fabric is perfect for this type of full skirt dress. Don’t you agree?

The dress is based on a vintage pattern – changing a bit here and there. Simple and easy to sew. Me like. Zips in the back with an invisible zipper.

The photoshoot, on the other hand, was not so simple and easy. A summerdress in the very cold Danish month of March – not a very cool combination, if you ask Wilma! Thanks daughter for doing it anyway. Love you.

 

  

And that’s not all, folks! When I first get started I’m unstoppable – so I decided to make yet another 50s style dress… with a little twist. A heart shaped cut-out back. I’ve been planning to do such a dress for ages, so here’s another bunch of photos. Bare with me 🙂

The pattern is the same as above. I’ve simply just cut out the heart and lined the top. The dress would definetely look better with an invisible zipper in the center back – but I was short of such….and just couldn’t wait to finish the dress, so I settled for an ordinary zipper.

   

 

Thanks for having me, An.

17 thoughts on “Kids’ Clothes Belgian Style week 4: Groovybaby… and mama

  1. That's exactly what I thought about Trine's sewing when I first saw it on Pinterest – that it was from a high end European boutique! That's what I get for not clicking through sooner, but I'm an avid follower now. Anyway, love both of these dresses, especially the print and neckline of the first one!! Gorgeous, Trine. 🙂

  2. I love everything Trine makes…AND I am so lucky that I can read her Danish blog…she is not only a talented designer and seamstress she is quite funny too. Poppy field dress is amazing and I LOVE the styling!!

  3. such a great series, such great dresses… I'm so excited that I found your blog! I will definitely be checking out the belgian style clothing for my children!

    mae

Leave a Reply

