That Seventies Style

A while ago, Liberty of London released its first line of quilting weight cottons: Liberty Lifestyle Bloomsbury Gardens. I would be lying if I said that the collection is entirely my thing, but there was one fabric which captured my attention right away: Copeland Natural Brown. I thought it had a kind of 70s vibe to it, and that with the right pattern, it could make a cute vintage dress.

The pattern is a simple model I drew myself (Edit June 1: this pattern (Tinny) is now available here). Bodice with a blind zipper in the back, skirt with two pairs of pleats in the front and two in the back, bright little collar, and tulip sleeves (inspired by this creation).

Both the Liberty fabric and the yellow fabric (Kona Cotton Curry) are from Sew, Mama, Sew!

21 thoughts on “That Seventies Style

  1. I actually love the Liberty Bloomsbury Gardens – I got a nice little bundle for Xmas that I haven't been able to cut into yet. The dress is stunning – reminds me a lot of the Oliver + S fairy tale dress – and your choice of fabric is perfect!

Leave a Reply

