Call for pattern testers – CLOSED


Six months ago I put a free pattern and tutorial for a bubble dress online. While I received many pictures of super cute bubble dresses made with the pattern (check this out), it also became clear that there is room for improvement. The dress needed to be longer for the bigger sizes, and I also became increasingly ashamed over the amateuristic look of the patterns (they were just scans of hand-drawn patterns!). 


In the past few weeks, I finally learned to draw digital patterns, and after making a digital version of the peplum bubble dress patterns, it was time for improving the regular bubble dress patterns as well. Rather than just making a digital version of the same pattern, I started from scratch and drew all-new improved patterns. The differences with the old pattern are the following:

– better sizing (the dress is longer, especially for the higher ages)
– more sizes: instead of 2y – 4y – 6y – 8y, it is now 1y – 18m – 2y – 3y – 4y – 5y – 6y.
– a peter pan collar, which you can choose to leave on or off
– digitally drawn in really pretty colors 🙂
– more detailed instructions are also on their way

Improving and digitalizing the patterns took me many more hours than I anticipated. In view of the time I put in it, and also taking into consideration the high quality of the new patterns, after much thought, I decided to no longer give it away for free. Instead, I will sell the pdf-patterns in an online webshop for a small price (probably around $7).

Therefore, I would also like to have the patterns tested properly. Currently, I’m still looking for pattern testers for the following sizes:

1 year
18 months
2 years
3 years
4 years
5 years
6 years

Being a pattern tester means that you:
– receive the pattern for free
– make the dress, and send me feedback and some pictures of the dress (worn, not on a hanger) within 3 weeks (2 if possible).

If you would like to be a pattern tester, please send an email to straightgrainblog [at] gmail.com, indicating which size you plan to make. Please rely on the table below to choose the right size, not just on the age of your child. Keep in mind that these are the dimensions of the finished dress, not of the child who should be wearing it 😉 So the easiest way of working is to take a well-fitting dress from your child’s wardrobe, measure it up, and compare to the measures in the table.

Dimensions of the finished dress:


1 year
18 months
2 years
3 years
4 years
5 years
6 years
length (back neck to hem)  [in cm]
43,5
47
50
53,5
57,5
60,5
64
chest (circ.) 
[in cm]
54
59,5
61
63
65,5
67,5
70
length (back neck to hem)  [in inch]
17.1
18.4
19.7
21.4
22.6
23.5
25.1
chest (circ.)
[in inch]
21.2
23.5
24.0
24.9
25.8
26.6
27.5


Thank you in advance! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Call for pattern testers – CLOSED

  1. Oh, How rubbish I have just found your blog and about to take the fabric and have already shown the pattern to my friend. She is making dinner, I'm making your bubble skirt for my friends daughter she's a fine 3 year old!! Oh well next time eh!! x

  2. Awesome. I bet it is a lot of work. Even hand drawing for the public is a lot of work. What software did you use? I hope it all goes well and is a nice little money earner for you – at least enought to pay for fabric hey?!

  3. Exactly! It's not going to be me a fortune, but it'd be so nice to be able to buy fabric without feeling guilty about what I'm spending 😉
    And the software is Inkscape – free for download, and pretty easy to work with.

  4. HI,

    I, as a grandmother, would love to test your patterns. However, sending pictures of my beautiful granddaughters to a stranger would not be appropriate. I am sure you can understand my concern. Your patterns are delightful and I look forward to seeing more of them.

  5. I'm so sorry I missed this An! I would have loved to test your pattern. You can bet I'll buy it as soon as it's up! If you need any help with testing or reviewing in the future, let me know. I would love to help promote your pattern! 🙂

Leave a Reply

