A bassinet for Norah’s dolls

Last week, I decided to make a new bassinet for Norah’s baby dolls. I wanted to keep things simple and geometrical, and it had to be machine washable. I used half a yard of Anna Maria Horner’s LouLouThi Buoyancy I had lying around, and combined it with some affordable grey linen.
I also made a little tutorial for the crib. It’s the first tutorial I ever made, so please let me know if anything is unclear (or wrong). Making the bassinet takes about 3 hours. Making the tutorial took… well, a lot longer. 😉
6 thoughts on “A bassinet for Norah’s dolls

  1. This is so sweet and thanks for sharing the tutorial on how to make it. My baby girl is only 4 months old but I know one of these will be needed when she reaches that age of loving baby dolls. Thanks!

  2. I am going to be making this for my daughter. I have 2 questions: (1) What type of batting do you use? I am concerned the batting will come apart when I wash this if the layers are quilted together. (2) Is the bottom of the outside the solid color or the print? I assumed it would be the print fabric (same as the sides), but the pattern indicates 2 large ovals from the solid and no ovals from the print. Thanks!

  3. Lovely to hear that you'll be making the bassinet! (1) I used cheap synthetic batting and it didn't come apart. You could also use fleece, perhaps? (2) I used the solid color for the bottom, but nothing keeps you from using the print fabric of course! Whatever you prefer 🙂
    An

  4. Thank you! After doing some research, I am going to try Pellon fusible fleece to fuse to the inside fabric. I'll probably do the whole outside in the same fabric but I wasn't sure if I was missing something.

  5. merci beaucoup !
    Maybe I'll use it for my daugther anna livia's doll (sleeping in a cardboard box rigth now 🙂
    laurence (France)

Leave a Reply

